Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Water Butt set up for DI

WCF

Help Support WCF:

Chris34

Hi all,

I've been filling drums for 8 months now direct from the resin canistor, now that the work load is increasing and it's getting darker earlier it's long been a chore and now it's becoming a pain in the backside filling them this way as it can take up to 1 hour just to get 150 litres.  

I am looking at using a water butt where I will leave it to fill all night / day on a slow pour through the di and then use the biggest tap I can find to fill the drums in super quick time from the water butt.

I've had a quick look at water butts and wilko do this 250 ltr one for £16, seems cheap and also seems the same as the one at toolstation which is £50, would this be ok?

0406184-2.jpg

I've noticed that to get the most out of the resin you have to pour the tap water slowly through it, this is fine but has anyone got any suggestions for controlling the flow accurately and cheaply?  

Cheers, Chris.

The only thing you would need to control the flow is a good quality tap , once fitted set it to a slow flow and time how long it takes to fill a 1 litre jug, times that by the number of litres capacity you have and you will have an estimate of roughly how long it will take to fill.

Use this as a guide though because changes in prssure can fluctuate your timing.

Id say to go for a small ibc, i have seen them i think its 600l but may be wrong, something like that would be around £50 and its a lot sturdier than a wilkos water butt.

for transfer i bought a brand new sump pump rated at 9000 l/hr for £30 off amazon, wanted brand new so there was no impurities going into the tank from a second hand one, that fills my van using a 1&1/2 braided hose and does it in around 4-5min, hope this helps