ro unit ot workng too well !!!???

Discussion in 'Tutorials & DIY' started by washerman, Oct 25, 2011.

Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums.
    Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

1. washerman

washerman Guest

Hi all
    well firstly im new to w.f.p cleaning i have been using trad methods.

I need some advice on my ro un it it seems to be producing a very small amount of water it is a 200 gallon membrain(2 x 100) and im lucky to get 60/70 liters a day! the fillters are all new, the water presure seems to be ok can fill a 5 liter bottle in about 8/9 secons, if i allow water to come out of the waste pipe it slows the rate down even more. im a bit stuck please help!!
    oh i bought the unit second hand im not that sure it should make any diff.

Advertisement
  2. nearlyclean

Supplier

What the tds and how much waste is coming off,could be a tube connected wrong or kinked

3. washerman

washerman Guest

THE T.D.S. IS 6 but the water from the tap is almost 400 so didnt expect it to be a lot better there are no kinks but couldnt say if it is plumbed correctly.
    The waste is about 10/15 times the amount of pure water but like i said if i allow waste water there is almost no production of pure water.

4. buy an RO booster pump as there is not enough pressure pushing the water through the membranes and when you allow the waste pipe to go then the water has an easy escape route and water always follows the easiest path

5. Hinty

Hinty Well-Known Member

Have you got the flow restrictor the right way round?

Very occasionally the flow restrictor will fail - the easiest way to check is to take it out and try to blow through it in the direction indicated. If as you blow it goes straight through then you need a new one.