Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Advice for a potential newbie female window cleaner

WCF

Help Support WCF:

Frankie:)

Hi everyone
So would really like to hear from both male and female window cleaners on the reality of the job.
My partner has his own round and I’m thinking of setting up my own round.
He is worried that I’m really going to find it really hard. Especially in winter as I do feel the cold really badly.
He’s worried about be lifting the reel in and out as I’m only 5ft 1. I’m currently a dance teacher so quite fit and love what I do but I need something that I can be at home on an evening for my kids.
My partner is worried about the physical aspect and also the mental side as he says he finds it mind numbing.
Do you guys enjoy it, how difficult is it. Please be blunt, no sugar coating.
Thank you ☺️

There is no need to be lifting a reel in and out of the van have it mounted inside the van and the hose going through rollers in the van floor like in the pictures below , it’s a physical job but I know several women that do it and just do two storey houses so they can use shorter lighter poles , in the winter it’s not pleasant using cold water and stiff hoses but dress up with thermals and gloves and you will be fine 👍. Mentally you have to be motivated to get up and get out there and crack on with work it’s not for everyone, one of my guys is an excellent employee but he wasn’t motivated enough to run his own business so he works for me and loves it .

Attachments

• IMG_2570.jpeg
    IMG_2570.jpeg
    880.1 KB · Views: 2
  • IMG_2907.jpeg
    IMG_2907.jpeg
    974.8 KB · Views: 1
  • IMG_0247.jpeg
    IMG_0247.jpeg
    951.6 KB · Views: 1
My wife ran my business with my son while I was recovering from a broken leg and ankle fusion.