Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Advise please regarding solar panel cleaning

WCF

Help Support WCF:

Windowcleaner88

Hello and happy new year to you all.

I’m just looking for some advise regarding solar panel cleaning, I’ve cleaned a few property’s now and have got on well with them no issues but a lot of property’s have access issues so wondering if a scaffold tower is the best way to go ? I have no experience in using one at all but they look pretty straight forward. Does anybody rent one for these kind of jobs ? I can’t imagine it’s easy to pass the cost into the customer ? Any advice is appreciated. Thank you.

Some jobs do require scaffold towers or similar, this is both costly and time consuming, also erecting a scaffold tower needs two people so if working on your own it will be difficult, it may pay you just to do the ones you can without access equipment.

Some jobs do require scaffold towers or similar, this is both costly and time consuming, also erecting a scaffold tower needs two people so if working on your own it will be difficult, it may pay you just to do the ones you can without access equipment.
Thanks for the advice. Do you clean many solar panels that are difficult to access and required scaffold or lifts ? If you don’t mind me asking.

From what I have seen the 'mi towers' are designed to be erected by a single person and a lot of hire companies hire them out for about £100 a week. They pack down quite small but would probably need a medium sized van to transport. If you could book a few jobs in for the same week and transport the tower you could spread the hire costs.

Thanks for the advice. Do you clean many solar panels that are difficult to access and required scaffold or lifts ? If you don’t mind me asking.